Open main menu
Home
Random
Recent changes
Special pages
Community portal
Preferences
About Wikipedia
Disclaimers
Incubator escapee wiki
Search
User menu
Talk
Dark mode
Contributions
Create account
Log in
Editing
Rules of Go
(section)
Warning:
You are not logged in. Your IP address will be publicly visible if you make any edits. If you
log in
or
create an account
, your edits will be attributed to your username, along with other benefits.
Anti-spam check. Do
not
fill this in!
=====Ko threats===== The next example is typical of real games. It shows how the ko rule can sometimes be circumvented by first playing elsewhere on the board. The first diagram below shows the position after Black 1. White can capture the marked black stone by playing at ''a''. The second diagram shows the resulting position. Black cannot immediately recapture at ''b'' because of the ko rule. So Black instead plays 3 in the third diagram. For reasons that will become clear, Black 3 is called a "ko threat". {|border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" |-valign="top" | {{Go board 5x5 | b1| u| b| w| w | l| b| b| w| r | b| b| w| w| r | b| A| bT| w| r | b| b| w| w| dr|24}} | | {{Go board 5x5 | b1| u| b| w| w | l| b| b| w| r | b| b| w| w| r | b| w2| B| w| r | b| b| w| w| dr|24}} | | {{Go board 5x5 | b1| u| b| w| w | l| b| b| w| r | b| b| w| w| b3 | b| w2| B| w| r | b| b| w| w| dr|24}} |-valign="top" |White to move | |White captures | |Black plays away from the ko |} At this point, White could choose to connect at ''b'', as shown in the first diagram below. However, this would be strategically unsound, because Black 5 would guarantee that Black could eventually capture the white group altogether, no matter how White played. {|border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" |-valign="top" | {{Go board 5x5 | b1| u| b| w| w | l| b| b| w| r | b| b| w| w| b3 | b| w2| w4| w| r | b| b| w| w| dr|24}} | | {{Go board 5x5 | b1| u| b| w| w | l| b| b| w| r | b| b| w| w| b3 | b| w2| w4| w| b5 | b| b| w| w| dr|24}} |-valign="top" |White 4 is an error | |Black takes advantage |} Instead, White responds correctly to Black 3 with 4 in the first diagram below. Now, contrary to the situation after White 2, Black can legally play at ''b'', because the resulting position, shown in the second diagram, has not occurred previously. It differs from the position after Black 1 because of the presence of Black 3 and White 4 on the board. Now White is prohibited from recapturing at ''a'' by the ko rule. White has no moves elsewhere on the board requiring an immediate reply from Black (ko threats), so White plays the less urgent move 6, capturing the black stone at 3, which could not have evaded capture even if White had waited. In the next diagram, Black connects at ''a'' before White has a chance to recapture. Both players pass and the game ends in this position. {|border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" |-valign="top" | {{Go board 5x5 | b1| u| b| w| w | l| b| b| w| r | b| b| w| w| b3 | b| w2| B| w| w4 | b| b| w| w| dr|24}} | | {{Go board 5x5 | b1| u| b| w| w | l| b| b| w| r | b| b| w| w| b3 | b| A| b5| w| w4 | b| b| w| w| dr|24}} | | {{Go board 5x5 | b1| u| b| w| w | l| b| b| w| w6 | b| b| w| w| r | b| A| b5| w| w4 | b| b| w| w| dr|24}} | | {{Go board 5x5 | b1| u| b| w| w | l| b| b| w| w6 | b| b| w| w| r | b| b7| b5| w| w4 | b| b| w| w| dr|24}} |-valign="top" |White replies to threat | |Black recaptures legally | |Ko bars recapture at ''a'' | |Black connects |}
Edit summary
(Briefly describe your changes)
By publishing changes, you agree to the
Terms of Use
, and you irrevocably agree to release your contribution under the
CC BY-SA 4.0 License
and the
GFDL
. You agree that a hyperlink or URL is sufficient attribution under the Creative Commons license.
Cancel
Editing help
(opens in new window)