Open main menu
Home
Random
Recent changes
Special pages
Community portal
Preferences
About Wikipedia
Disclaimers
Incubator escapee wiki
Search
User menu
Talk
Dark mode
Contributions
Create account
Log in
Editing
Rules of Go
(section)
Warning:
You are not logged in. Your IP address will be publicly visible if you make any edits. If you
log in
or
create an account
, your edits will be attributed to your username, along with other benefits.
Anti-spam check. Do
not
fill this in!
=== End === '''Rule 9. The game ends when both players have passed consecutively. The ''final position'' (the position later used to score the game) is the position on the board at the time the players pass consecutively.''' Since the position on the board at the time of the first two consecutive passes is the one used to score the game, Rule 9 can be said to require the players to "play the game out". Under Rule 9, players must for example capture enemy stones even when it may be obvious to both players that they cannot evade capture. Otherwise the stones are not considered to have been captured. Because Rule 9 differs significantly from the various systems for ending the game used in practice, a word must be said about them. These systems, which are discussed more fully in {{section link||Counting phase}} below, generally allow the game to end as soon as it is clear to the players which stones would remain on the board if the game continued. The precise means of achieving this varies widely by ruleset, and in some cases has strategic implications. These systems often use passing in a way that is incompatible with Rule 9. For players, knowing the conventions surrounding the manner of ending the game in a particular ruleset can therefore have practical importance. Under Chinese rules, and more generally under any using the area scoring system, a player who played the game out as if Rule 9 were in effect would not be committing any strategic errors by doing so. They would, however, likely be viewed as unsportsmanlike for prolonging the game unnecessarily. On the other hand, under a territory scoring system like that of the Japanese rules, playing the game out in this way would in most cases be a strategic mistake. ==== Territory ==== '''Definition. In the final position, an empty intersection is said to belong to a player's territory if all stones adjacent to it or to an empty intersection connected to it are of that player's color.''' ''Note:'' Unless the entire board is empty, the second condition β that there be at least one stone of the kind required β is always satisfied and can be ignored. A point can never belong to both players' territories. On the other hand, it may well happen that an empty intersection belongs to neither player's territory. In that case the point is said to be ''neutral territory''.<ref>[https://www.cs.cmu.edu/~wjh/go/rules/AGA.html AGA Official Rules of Go]: "Neutral Points: Any empty points left on the board at the end of the game which are ''not'' completely surrounded by either player's stones are known as ''neutral points'', and are not counted toward either player's territory or area."</ref> There are rarely any more than a handful of neutral points at the end of a game; in the majority of cases, there are none at all. Japanese and Korean rules count some points as neutral where the basic rules, like Chinese rules, would not. For more on this, see {{section link||Seki}}. In order to understand the definition of territory, it is instructive to apply it first to a position of a kind that might arise before the end of a game.<ref>Position after move 45 of 53 in a game taken from the go rules of the First World Mind Sports Games. [http://www.intergofed.org/wmsg/members_documents/2008_July_16/WMSG-GoRule-Appendix1_Revised.pdf]</ref> {{Goban 9x9 | | | b|uI| b|uE| |uD|urC | | b| H| b| w| | | w| | | b| b| w| w| | | |w | | | b| b| w| |w| w|b | | | b| w| | |w| b|b | | X| X| B| w| w|b| J|b | | X| b| | w| b|b| b|b | | X| b| w| w| w|b| F|w | |dX|dA| b|dG| w|b| w|drK |24|u=u|d=d|l=l|r=r}} The point ''a'' is adjacent to a black stone. Therefore, ''a'' does not belong to White's territory. However, ''a'' is connected to ''b'' (by the path shown in the diagram, among others), which is adjacent to a white stone. Therefore, ''a'' does not belong to Black's territory either. In conclusion, ''a'' is neutral territory. The point ''c'' is connected to ''d'', which is adjacent to a white stone. But ''c'' is also connected to ''e'', which is adjacent to a black stone. Therefore, ''c'' is neutral territory. Similarly, the points ''f'' and ''g'' are neutral territory. On the other hand, ''h'' is adjacent only to black stones and is not connected to any other points. Therefore, ''h'' is black territory. For the same reason, ''i'' and ''j'' are black territory, and ''k'' is white territory. It is because there is so much territory left to be claimed that skilled players would not end the game in the previous position. The game might continue with White playing 1 in the next diagram. If the game ended in this new position, the marked intersections would become White's territory, since they would no longer be connected to an empty intersection adjacent to a black stone. {{Goban 9x9 | | |b| |b|w1|uX|uX|urX | |b| |b|w| X| X| w|rX | |b|b|w|w| X| X| X|w | | |b|b|w| X| w| w|b | | |b|w|X| X| w| b|b | | | | |w| w| b| |b | | |b| |w| b| b| b|b | | |b|w|w| w| b| |w | | | |b| | w| b| w| |24|u=u|d=d|l=l|r=r}} The game might end with the moves shown below. In the final position, the points marked ''a'' are black territory and the points marked ''b'' are white territory. The point marked ''c'' is the only neutral territory left. {{Goban 9x9 |ulA|uA| b|b1| b|w|uB|uB|urB | lA| b| A| b| w|B| B| w|rB | lA| b| b| w| w|B| B| B|w | lA| A| b| b| w|B| w| w|b | lA| A| b| w| B|B| w| b|b | lA|b3|w2|w4| w|w| b| A|b | lA| A| b|w6| w|b| b| b|b | lA| A| b| w| w|w| b| C|w |dlA|dA|b5| b|b7|w| b| w|drB |24|u=u|d=d|l=l|r=r}} In Japanese and Korean rules, the point in the lower right corner and the point marked ''a'' on the right side of the board would fall under the ''seki'' exception, in which they would be considered neutral territory. (See {{section link||Seki}} below.) ==== Area ==== '''Definition. In the final position, an intersection is said to belong to a player's ''area'' if either: 1) it belongs to that player's territory; or 2) it is occupied by a stone of that player's color.''' Consider once again the final position shown in the last diagram of the section "Territory". The following diagram illustrates the area of each player in that position. Points in a player's area are occupied by a stone of the corresponding color. The lone neutral point does not belong to either player's area. {{Goban 9x9 |b|b|b|b|b|w|w|w|w |b|b|b|b|w|w|w|w|w |b|b|b|w|w|w|w|w|w |b|b|b|b|w|w|w|w|b |b|b|b|w|w|w|w|b|b |b|b|w|w|w|w|b|b|b |b|b|b|w|w|b|b|b|b |b|b|b|w|w|w|b| |w |b|b|b|b|b|w|b|w|w |24|u=u|d=d|l=l|r=r}} ==== Score ==== '''Definition. A player's ''score'' is the number of intersections in their area in the final position.'''{{dubious|What about komidashi? What about different scoring systems? Ehh?|date=February 2014}} For example, if a game ended as in the last diagram in the section "Territory", the score would be: Black 44, White 36. The players' scores add to 80. The difference between this and the 81 intersections on a {{nowrap|9 Γ 9}} board is accounted for by the one point of neutral territory. The scoring system described here is known as ''area scoring'', and is the one used in the Chinese rules. Different scoring systems exist. These determine the same winner in most instances. See the ''Scoring systems'' section below. ==== Winner ==== '''Rule 10. If one player has a higher score than the other, then that player wins. Otherwise, the game is drawn.''' In the previous example, Black wins by eight points. Margin of victory does not matter; winning by one point is as good as winning by 100 points.
Edit summary
(Briefly describe your changes)
By publishing changes, you agree to the
Terms of Use
, and you irrevocably agree to release your contribution under the
CC BY-SA 4.0 License
and the
GFDL
. You agree that a hyperlink or URL is sufficient attribution under the Creative Commons license.
Cancel
Editing help
(opens in new window)