Open main menu
Home
Random
Recent changes
Special pages
Community portal
Preferences
About Wikipedia
Disclaimers
Incubator escapee wiki
Search
User menu
Talk
Dark mode
Contributions
Create account
Log in
Editing
Simple squeeze
(section)
Warning:
You are not logged in. Your IP address will be publicly visible if you make any edits. If you
log in
or
create an account
, your edits will be attributed to your username, along with other benefits.
Anti-spam check. Do
not
fill this in!
===The criss-cross squeeze=== The third general type of entry position in the simple squeeze occurs when declarer has an entry in dummy's threat suit and dummy has an entry in declarer's threat suit. This situation is termed a ''[[criss-cross squeeze]]''. It is regarded as a comparatively rare position.<ref>{{cite book | last = Bird | first = David | title = Bridge squeezes for everyone : yes, even you | publisher = Master Point Press | location = Toronto | year = 2002 | isbn = 9781894154420 }}</ref> {{BridgeHandNES |Label =Example 8 |Lead = South to lead |A|Q 2|—|2 |K 3| K 3|—|— |Q 2 |A|—|A}} {{BridgeHandNES |Label =Example 9 |Lead = South to lead |A|Q 2|—|2 |K| K 4 3|—|— |Q 2 |A|—|A}} Example 8 illustrates the criss-cross squeeze. Dummy's threat card is the {{Hearts}}Q and declarer has an entry, the {{Hearts}}A, in that suit. Declarer's threat card is the {{Spades}}Q and dummy has an entry, the {{Spades}}A, in that suit. When declarer cashes the {{Clubs}}A, East is squeezed. South cashes the A in whichever suit East discards from, crosses to the other A, and cashes the remaining Q. This is an automatic squeeze: it works regardless of which opponent guards the two threats. However, the position is usually ambiguous. After the squeeze has taken place, declarer is often uncertain which guard (in Example 8, the {{Spades}}K and the {{Hearts}}K) is now a singleton. For example, if East unguarded the {{Spades}}K earlier in the play, the situation might actually be as shown in Example 9. In this case, declarer cashes the {{Clubs}}A and East throws a small heart. If declarer now judges that East has bared the {{Hearts}}K, he will cash the {{Hearts}}A. When the {{Hearts}}K does not fall, declarer will subsequently be stuck in dummy, losing the final trick to the {{Hearts}}K. A similar outcome can result if East bares the {{Hearts}}K early in the play. The possibility of this sort of ambiguity is inherent in the blocked entry position that characterizes criss-cross squeezes. A defender who can see what's coming can discard deceptively, putting declarer to a guess after the squeeze has matured. {{clear}}
Edit summary
(Briefly describe your changes)
By publishing changes, you agree to the
Terms of Use
, and you irrevocably agree to release your contribution under the
CC BY-SA 4.0 License
and the
GFDL
. You agree that a hyperlink or URL is sufficient attribution under the Creative Commons license.
Cancel
Editing help
(opens in new window)